Dishoom & Friends

This weekend I had a great time catching up with some of my closest friends from University. Having dinner at Dishoom in Shoreditch, London offered the perfect, warming ambience as well as some of the best cocktails and Indian food I have had.

If anyone is thinking of trying out Dishoom, I would definitely recommend the Shoreditch restaurant, over the covent garden one, as it offers a much more chilled out vibe and an amazing court yard for enjoying it’s incredible cocktails. The Bollybellini was probably my favourite, packed with strong lychee and raspberries in Prosecco – a definite girlie beverage. A great warmer is the Winter Pimm’s, although I did think it was pretty much like mulled cider, but with a heavier price tag.

To eat, we shared several dishes from the all-day menu (serves from 11.30 until late):

Skate Cheeks Koliwada – a nice light batter, the skate almost had a melting texture.
Dishoom Chicken Tikka – I don’t usual rate Chicken Tikka very much but this was chargrilled perfectly and I loved the sweet vinegar marinade.
Paneer Tikka – This was probably one of my favourite dishes, ten out of ten – except they could have probably served more of it in the bowl!
Spicy Lamb Chops – again, well charred, was amazing with a little lime juice on top!
Chicken Berry Britannia – this Biryani worked surprisingly well with the cranberries, I found this very more-ish!

IMG_0379 IMG_0380 IMG_0399 IMG_0400

Atmosphere: busy but laid-back and cosy
Service: ultra-friendly staff – not to mention a couple of dashing waiters!
Food: great flavours with well-balanced spices and hotness.
Price: cocktails are quite expensive for the amount given compared with typical bars, but do taste amazing. Individual dishes are priced reasonably well. The entire meal per person this night (with a cocktail each) was around £20.

Since this is the first snapshot food review for this blog, please do let me know if there are any other areas you think would be useful to talk about, I will be happy to hear any suggestions for improvement. Essentially, I just want to give a concise and honest summary  of my eateries so I hope this did the job! What has been your experience of Dishoom?

Leave a Reply

