Patara, Knightsbridge

A couple of weeks back I had a catch up with my lovely University housemate at Patara (website here) in Knightsbridge, London. We opted for its lunch menu which offered 2 courses for around £13, which was fantastic value for money given that main courses are priced at £15 and over and portions were decent.

To start I ordered Phed Nam Peung, honey marinated duck breast pieces, wrapped in Pandan leaf and fried. At first I thought it would be rather heavy because of the ‘frying’ aspect, however the duck was cooked just right and not oily at all. Although I would only recommend ordering this if you are particularly hungry at the time.

Pictured below with my starter is also the tofu salad ordered by my friend.

Patara starters

For mains I chose the Gang Kari which was a yellow coconut curry with New Zealand lamb, new potatoes and onions. In terms of flavour the curry was amazing, although if I was to be picky I would probably make it a little hotter. Lamb was not overcooked either. I just wished there was more of it!

Patara main

Atmosphere: despite visiting on a weekday and just after the usual lunch rush, there was a fair amount of tables occupied and definitely made it less awkward, as the waiters/waitresses liked to stand and watch you from afar. Nevertheless it was comfortable to sit in and the decor was typical of high-end dining.
Service: all staff were all extremely friendly, the older gentlemen who served us was particularly warm and welcoming with lots of smiles and interest in conversing with the customers.
Food: excellent flavours, although probably more on the light side compared with the Thai food I have had Asia.
Price: the lunch offer was amazing value for money, the jasmine tea was also reasonably priced. Although I’m not sure if I personally would pay for the evening prices myself.

I would definitely like to go back and try some other dishes and the location is nice and away from the hustle/ tourist-crowded surroundings of Harrods. Have you been to Patara before? What did you think?

One thought on “Patara, Knightsbridge

Leave a Reply

