Bedroom Transformation

So after several weeks of manual labour (after surprising myself with my physical strength!) with lots of help from the mother, my bedroom transformation is finally complete! Well, 90% there at least. Barring a few tweaks with light switches, tidying up jewellery storage and framing a few pictures for the wall, I am so happy with the results!

In my last bedroom overhaul update (here) I posted a couple of pictures of inspiration, particularly for the open closet section and in terms of the colour palette I wanted to apply. Given I don’t actually have a walk-in wardrobe (one day…) I wasn’t sure how this open closet concept would work and whether it would make my bedroom look more like a store room by having all my clothes ‘on-show’. And since I already had fitted wardrobes, the biggest battle was re-arranging storage. But I am so glad I went ahead with the idea. Strangely, although there’s now a huge custom wardrobe in the room, the new composition and layout seems to make the bedroom much more open.

I am now pleased to share my before and after photos with you all! Of course, if money was no question I’d also strip out the carpet, change the doors, add intriguing vintage ornaments of some sort… but I think I did the best job I could on a budget! I am still yet to sort out the shelf next to the wardrobe and also the shabby cupboard under the noticeboard, but once I get round to all those finishing touches, I will share those photos too. If you have any lovely ideas, please feel free to share them!

Before… A mixture of everything accumulated since the age of 7. The keep, donate and bin process started…

DSCN0067 DSCN0068 DSCN0069

After…

DSCN0189 DSCN0190 DSCN0191 DSCN0192 DSCN0194 DSCN0195 DSCN0196

There are actually more bags stuffed and hidden at the back!

DSCN0197 DSCN0198

It is weird to feel satisfied at the look of neatly folded trousers??

DSCN0199 DSCN0200

Practical and cheap: an accessories hanger from Ikea…

DSCN0201 DSCN0202

A vintage-inspired worn frame from good old TK Maxx…

DSCN0203

Some tins I have yet to find any fundamental use for. But they look pretty and they’re from Paris!

DSCN0204

Re-using a dusty pink shoe box to create different height levels and displaying other objects. I don’t actually use the Miss Dior Cherie perfume anymore, but it’s too pretty to throw away… I also love my lucky Mulberry bird randomly perched on the end!

DSCN0205

These shelves have been sitting in a mess for weeks now! But the aim is to have one shelve dedicated to jewellery and the next just for beauty products. Next point of action: de-tangling jewellery nightmare…

DSCN0206

Another set of practical and cheap buys: velcro show boxes from Ikea. Although you will need to bear in mind that any pair of heels taller than 3 inches will not fit upright inside.

DSCN0207

Temporary window sill display… Ralph Lauren Home fragrance diffuser and a ceramic gift token.

DSCN0209

What’s on my bedside cabinet…

DSCN0210

Cute dish (from Ikea again) for those everyday bits and bobs…

DSCN0211

New chandelier from BHS…

DSCN0215

Two shelves that need further organisation and thought…

DSCN0218

I hope you have enjoyed reading about this project, if you are doing something similar, please share your link and I would love to have a look!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Bedroom Transformation

Leave a Reply

